The information posted on PayrollTalk is for informational purposes only and is not intended to substitute for obtaining accounting, payroll, tax, or financial advice from a professional accountant.

NY telecommuting and tax/convenience of the employer test?!

JeffC
edited November 2010 in General Payroll Topics
Good morning,

I am a payroll admin. for a law firm. Our corp. office is in Los Angeles but we have offices around the country, including NYC. We have a new employee who is salaried, exempt, and not an attorney. She will be telecomuting from her home in Mass. to our NYC office. She will come to the NYC office once a week. We do not have an office in Mass.

We have a couple problems/questions regarding this scenerio.

1) How should we withhold state income tax from her paycheck? I contacted the Department of Revenue in MA and they say withhold MA State income when she works from home and NY when she works from our physical NYC office. But from what I read about the NYS Convenience of Employer Test our employee would owe 100% of her income tax to the state of NY. Does that mean we should withhold 100%?

2) If we split this up for her rather than do 100% to NY would we as business have to pay Mass. payroll taxes for the days she is working from home even though it is not physically our business office -- she has her own equipment and furniture we have given her nothing but a blackberry and a laptop which we give to all employees at her level.

2) Does the NYS convenience of employer test relate in anyway to revenue generated by this employee. Do we as a partnership have to apportion this Mass time/revenue generated from work in Mass (though through NYC) on our business return?

Your thoughts and time on these questions would be greatly appreciated.

Jeff C.

Comments

• Gee - that is the sort of question we would have to ask legal counsel about :wink: