The information posted on PayrollTalk is for informational purposes only and is not intended to substitute for obtaining accounting, payroll, tax, or financial advice from a professional accountant.

Question about Payroll in California

I have a small business with one part time employee with no benefits. I'd like to use 1099 to pay the employee but somehow this employee should be treated as a regular employee instead of an independent contractor.

Anyhow, now i have to use regular payroll with deductions . And I don't know where to start. I search around and find out that Bank of America offer free online payroll services with direct deposit within BOFA account. But with the free service, they don't do the w2 and the tax reporting to FEderal and state. (i'm not sure if i'm making sense so far) I'm very new at this, and would like your expert advice.

What do I have to do with the withholdings employee's money ? Do we deposit to government account? How's w2 works? Is it easy enough for me to maintain it myself? I just don't see the benefit of paying somebody $40 every month for just one part time employee if i could do it myself.

Thank you so much in advance. Looking forward to see all your response. :)

alwayslulu

Comments

• You can do it yourself - BUT - you need to have a tax advisor for your business anyway simply because there are too many other things that can cause problems for you - this person should be able to show you what to do and let you know of anything else you need to be aware of as an employer and a business person. You may have some upfront cost, but probably not the monthly charge. The flip side is to go it on your own, and possibly, end up paying much more in penalties and interest for not getting it right. Sort of going back to that old advertising saying "You can pay me now or you can pay me later" - paying later is usually much more expensive.