The information posted on PayrollTalk is for informational purposes only and is not intended to substitute for obtaining accounting, payroll, tax, or financial advice from a professional accountant.

Pay Period & Paying Taxes

I inherited payroll when I excepted the job of HR Manager. I have never done payroll before so I am naive in a lot of ways. I attended my first payroll law seminar which has left me with a lot of unanswered questions. Assuming that the past payroll people knew what they were doing I have just kept doing payroll the way it was set up. After attending that seminar I am unsure if we are doing things correctly.

We pay our employees bi-monthly. The pay periods run from the 24th to the 8th and the 9th to the 23rd of each month. We only pay taxes twice a month. The practices I question now are as follows. During the pay period we have per diem employees that get paid once a week and it has also been common practice to cut retro active raise checks during the pay periods and distribute them before pay day.

So my questions are: should we be paying taxes every week because we pay the per diem people once a week or move the per diem people to a bi-monthly pay period? Does issuing retro active raise checks before payday change when our taxes are due? Does issuing a final check before pay day to an employee that has terminated change when taxes are due?

Comments

• Well first things first, it is semi-monthly. :) Bi-monthly would mean that you get paid every other month.