The information posted on PayrollTalk is for informational purposes only and is not intended to substitute for obtaining accounting, payroll, tax, or financial advice from a professional accountant.

Payroll company

I currently process payroll for one company and have discovered that I love this type of work . I am taking classes to get my CPS. If I were to start a payroll company, how are taxes paid by the authorized representative? I am reviewing a few software programs that I would use to be able to offer direct deposit for my clients. I am just wondering how companies or business handle this.

Additionally, during my research i ran across topics such as ADP using the money gained from clients and reinvesting it to build interest. Is this common practice?

I appreciate any insight . I am fairly new to this field, but I have a passion to learn more about it.

Comments

• You may want to look into "partnering" with a small local payroll company. This will give you the necessary tools for direct deposit, multi-state reporting, etc. I used to work for a payroll company and we had bookkeeping/accounting firm partners who would process the payroll for their customers with our software. We gave them a price break and they received little support. The more business they brought, the lower their prices got. It really was a win for both sides.

• rrupertrrupert ✭✭✭

at least federally, it is my understanding that you would need to be an authorized representative on their EFTPS account to pay 941/940 taxes. You would process payroll and then debit a total amount owed for all wages, for all taxes (and depending on whether they funded employee benefits through you) and possibly employee benefit deductions plus your expense. You will need some major insurance and possibly bonding to cover your ACH (Direct deposit) transactions.