The information posted on PayrollTalk is for informational purposes only and is not intended to substitute for obtaining accounting, payroll, tax, or financial advice from a professional accountant.

Medicare and Teachers prior to 1984?

edited August 2012 in General Payroll Topics
Hello all,
I process payroll for a High School in Massachusetts. I am fairly new at this and i have come a across an employee that had not any Medicare deductions taken out for quite some time.

Now I know that they don't pay into Social Security because they pay into their own retirement system but I hadn't heard anything about Medicare.

This employee seems to have the understanding that there were exceptions for teachers hired prior to 1984 regarding Medicare such as never having to pay into it. Would there be any reason for her NOT to pay into Medicare? Could it be she is confusing Medicare with Social Security? I can't seem to find anything about NOT withholding medicare.

Can some one help me out?

Thanks!!

Theo

Comments

• State and local government employees hired (or rehired) after March 31, 1986, are subject to mandatory Medicare coverage. Public employees covered for Social Security under a Section 218 Agreement are already covered for Medicare. Employees whose services are not covered for Social Security but who are required to pay the Medicare-only portion of FICA are referred to as Medicare Qualified Government Employees (MQGE).

Employees who have been in continuous employment with the employer since March 3l, 1986, who are not covered under a Section 218 Agreement nor subject to the mandatory Social Security and Medicare provisions, remain exempt from both Social Security and Medicare taxes, provided they are members of a public retirement system.

http://www.ssa.gov/slge/mand_med_cov.htm