The information posted on PayrollTalk is for informational purposes only and is not intended to substitute for obtaining accounting, payroll, tax, or financial advice from a professional accountant.

I passed CPP exam

I passed CPP exam and after I passed the exam I gave speech at the Washington Metropolitan area Chapter of the American payroll Association.

I would like to share with you.
I started studying for the CPP exam in 2008. I took the CPP exam 6 times and I finally passed on April 15th 2011.

My journey started in 2007 when I was at the ADP year end training. I won a one year membership in the WMAC-APA.

I started searching the WMAC-APA website and I found the education section. I was doing payroll almost 6 years but I didn’t have any clue about payroll education. I said to myself I should learn more about payroll since I love it so much... I signed up for the payroll education class. I bought my Principals of Payroll Administration book and I was looking at the book I said to myself “English is your second language how are you going to do this. Are you out of your mind?” It was a big book with a lot of IRS regulation and rules that I never heard before. I was scared. Actually, first day class was very interesting. I was very excited to be in the class but nothing was familiar to me. It was different world.

I had to learn a lot. Eileen and Carol were my teachers and other CPP’s were helping them. I admired them and I just want to be one of them in the future.

Of course, I did not pass first try. I had test anxiety and I didn’t know how to use the computer based testing. I didn’t give up and I took the test every 6 months. Every time I failed I said I’m not going to take this exam again but I couldn’t stop it. I learned how to enjoy studying and not to stress too much.