The information posted on PayrollTalk is for informational purposes only and is not intended to substitute for obtaining accounting, payroll, tax, or financial advice from a professional accountant.

Where should a small business go for payroll-related questions?

edited April 27 in Payroll Advice

If I'm a small business owner trying to run payroll by myself, where could I go when I have payroll questions? Are there any freelance websites or resources where I could get a quick answer to a question or hire someone on an hourly basis to help me?

Comments

• You can post questions here. It is useful to have either a low end payroll program such as QuickBooks or a service such as ADP. You could also go to the APA website, and contact their local chapter.

corieeoviedo
  • Even finding this site bodes well for a business owner. But, one cannot easily become proficient in payroll by getting and using software, and with the help of a forum.

I learned myself, over time, but I was willing and able to handle my errors, both in the rework, and penalties and interest. If someone is not able to do the same, then they should hire out their payroll.

One has to consider the value of their time. For a successful business, the owner's time should be worth too much to spend preparing payroll. On the other hand, some owners prefer to pretend keeping payroll to themselves is a good thing (privacy or some other reason), no matter the "cost".

And for full disclosure, I make a living selling payroll software, yet I do not recommend anyone use our software unless they understand payroll, and have considered the "cost".

eoviedoCaroleNJ
  • Agreed. But I will say that buying a modern payroll program or using a service is MUCH better then trying to do payroll from scratch. To use an example. buying Turbo Tax does not make one a 1040 expert, but it is (IMO) vastly better then trying to do everything by hand. At least the right questions get asked.

eoviedoCaroleNJKathie